top of page
Search
  • rehenley2004

Q3 Awareness Post: Darien Bogart

Bogart is a New Mexico based artist working in acrylic medium primarily on canvas. His designs are inspired from his sketches, plein air paintings & photos created during his experiences in nature. With the use of sculpting tools and no traditional brushes, he begins with artist grade acrylic on high quality canvas and panels to create contemporary impressionistic landscapes. Emphasizing color, a luxurious texture and a variety of brushstrokes, he translates his inspiration of the American Landscape & Wildlife into bold, contemporary, visions.


Bogart grew up in Florida and was fortunate enough to have parents who deeply encouraged his appreciation for art and music. It was their support that gave him the courage to pursue this magnificent journey. His formal training started at the University of Florida as a student of Architecture. As he pursued new inspirations, he continued his studies at the Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale as a Graphics Art Major and finished his formal training at Florida Atlantic University where he obtained a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts. Bogart believes that much of what he has learned is self-taught through the rigors of trial, error and determination.


Bogart says his goal for a landscape painting is to recreate the spirit of place … to transport the viewer to that unique space and moment of tranquility where they may discover their own respite, embrace their own moment of reflection and meditation and to instill in them the wonderful sense of being.



A Time To Every Purpose Acrylic on canvas 48 x 36 in


My reaction to this piece was wow, he knows how to use and exploit color to create depth and realism. This is one of the few landscape pieces that hits on realism due to its detail and compositon, but also is so full of wonder and drama that it becomes surreal. I loved how detailed the plants in the front were and how the brush strokes shine through. I plan to be more bold with color in my pieces so that I can use color and the human eye to do some of the painting and communicating for me. (ALSO I LOVE THE SKY! Will be using those cloud techniques)


A Path Remembered Acrylic on canvas 48 x 36 in


My reaction to this piece was similar to my reaction above, but the content was different and the composition reminded me of my home project for this quarter. Thus, I love how he did the colors/light work on the path and how the trees faded to blue instead of black as they got further away. This made it more mysterious and also added more depth and realism to the piece that harsh colors like black and white would not have quite captured. It moves me and I love all the brushstrokes and how detailed it all is.



Mystic Waters

Acrylic on canvas

48 x 36 in


My reaction to this piece was wow, he knows how to put light on water. He caputured that luminosity that I could not get in my last piece, and thus I am learning how to capture light and reflectiveness on water through this piece. I also loved the clouds and how they were solid shapes but still had that realistic cloud like aura around them. I loved the overall compositon with the diagonal water and the rocks have so much incredible detail in them. For me, you get a very strong sense of a certain environment and climate from this piece.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page